Profile image for locallad9

SO-the bottom line here is Friend of Frome and the other ANTI big chain stores is YOU ALL want Frome to be full of independent shops and no big retail giants allowed.

I LOVE INDEPENDENT SHOPS believe it or not as a mechanic i use Popes (now Autogear)or Jon at Autocare who CAN compete and be less expensive than Halfords.

I HATE Catherine hill and those bloody DANGEROUS cobbles it was fine when it was tarmac,i have operated a refuse to use policy as i have seen many people slip up on those dangerous things (Yet another council cock up putting them there in the first place).

I use MANY OTHER smaller retail independents BUT we should EMBRACE ALL RETAIL n o matter how big or how small.

These BOFFINS who sit behind black blinds/have no friends,not contactable by phone who do these "reports"on Big retail really do not live in the real world.

I WELCOME ALL retailers.

BRING IT ON.

By locallad9 at 10:18 on 11/12/13

Re-post           

• Profile image for friendoffrome

Got that wrong again Local - nothing wrong with retail chains - like drink - OK in moderation. Frome needs enough to give choice but not of such a great number and size that they kill of non-chain shops in the town. That would reduce variety. It is remarkable for instance how many chain clothing stores resemble each other in the type of clothes offered. Costa has come to town and has not crushed the locals coffee shops. But if Cafe Nero or Starbucks(no tax) also came then it would restrict choice since they resemble each other so much.
    Catherine Hill don't go there if you don't like cobbles. It amuses me that people may complain about Catherine Hill but rave about the quaint picturesque streets abroad in Dinant or or the villages of Italy to which tourists flock in hundreds of thousands.

By friendoffrome at 15:52 on 11/12/13

You cannot refute the facts of a report by simply calling the researchers names. What sort of reasoning is that?